DynDNS now aggressively removes active domains from their system

A couple of days ago I noticed that some of my domains stopped working. A bit befuddled at first, I found that all of them were actually CNAME:s for a DynDNS domain I had set up back in 2006. It had always been a “set it and forget it” solution – until now. Still confused, I logged onto my account and found that the domains were gone. Checked the mail and confirmed my suspicion – the domains had been deleted due to inactivity:

What I found really poor about this email was how little warning you got – it’s five days, and then your domains are gone.

“But it’s not a problem”, I thought – I could just register the domains again!

Nope:

Apparently, at some point DynDNS decided that subdomains are a premium. (Unless you like really clunky domain names that start with dyndns.)

I want to clarify that I do not in any way feel entitled to the domains or DNS service I received from DynDNS. However, I do feel their business practice has become shadier and shadier over the years – starting off with limiting the number of domains per free account, cutting off access to domains and now apparently deleting active domains with just a few days notice.

The whole oredeal reminded me of an article which debated that people who do not own their domains are “second-class citizens” of the web. That is, if you rely on domains purchased by other companies or even other people (as with the free DNS service offered by afraid.org) you never know if these domains will be around tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Computers, Life

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “DynDNS now aggressively removes active domains from their system”


  1. No-IP.com is still free and offers 3 hostnames…

    • khromov Says:

      Thanks for the tip! I tried No-IP.com but it seems they also have a premium domain scheme – when you try to register most domains you get “This domain is only available for enhanced users.”. 😦


Leave a Reply

